Sunless Tanning?!

The good ol’ sun-in-a-bottle can come in handy when you live where there’s basically 10 months of winter in a year. Not to mention, it’s also a great alternative to sizzling in the sun where the UV rays can cause skin damage.

After reading countless reviews on several different self-tanners, I’ve decided to go with the Hawaiian Tropic Island Radiance Self Tanner, which costed me around $10.

Here’s what it looks like:

suntan

(I got the shade Medium-Dark)

Now, seeing that this product had very positive reviews, I was obviously expecting an amazingly engineered self-tanner. However, to my disappointment, there were a couple things I didn’t enjoy about this product.

1. The can pumps out too much product at a time.

The can is an aerosol, which explains why so much comes out at once, when sometimes I only need a little (it gets annoying). The upside, however, is that since the product is compressed, you get more.

2. It’s colourless

It’s a good thing AND a bad thing. Good thing being that it doesn’t stain your clothes or sheets (or at least mine, though I’ve heard it did for others). A lot of self-tanners are tinted to begin with, which means it’s messier to work with. The bad thing about it being colourless, however, is that you will never be sure if you had applied it evenly.

The first time I used this product, I had missed an entire spot on my hand. I didn’t notice until I woke up the next morning to discover that half my hand was still pale as ever! If you are a beginner, I suggest you stick to tinted self-tanners to make sure you don’t miss any spots.

Having said all that, I still feel that the Hawaiian Tropic Island Radiance Self Tanner did not turn me orange, which is an AMAZING plus, and also that the scent is quite nice compared to many others.

So the conclusion is I’m kind of on the fence with this one. If you’ve already tried it, what are YOUR thoughts on this one?

Love,

Melrose

Leave a Reply

